Who we are

Who we are

Members of the North Harbour Club have the desire to promote EXCELLENCE by encouraging and providing financial assistance to youth in the North Harbour region.

The 2024 North Harbour Club Trustees photographed at the 2024 AIMES Awards Gala Dinner: (left to right) Murray Lockwood (VP), Courtney Davies, Andy Ruzich, Mike Atkinson (President), Blake Douglas, Lisa Connor and Lloyd Kirby. (Absent: Becky West)


The North Harbour Club & Charitable Trust was established on 18 May 1995.

A group of North Shore business people met and established a constitution with the following objectives:

  1. To promote the North Harbour region.
  2. For business establishments and passionate residents to meet and network for the good of the region.
  3. To form a Charitable Trust to raise funds and present grant funding to the youth of the North Harbour region through the Trust’s annual AIMES Awards. To qualify for the AIMES Awards, recipients must have shown outstanding ability or potential in the areas of the Arts, Innovation (Science & Technology), Music, Education, Sport; and Service to the Community.

Members of the North Harbour Club have, among other stated aims, the desire to promote excellence by encouraging and providing financial assistance to the young people of the North Harbour region who have significant ability in their chosen field and display personal characteristics which make them worthy of the support.

The North Harbour Club is made up of over 250 members, all passionate in local affairs, business, education, sport and social development. They are all residents or have their businesses in the North Harbour region of Auckland (New Zealand).

North Harbour Club LIFE Members & Ambassadors

LIFE Members and Ambassadors photographed at the 2024 AIMES Awards Gala Dinner

(Left to right) LIFE members Professor Ian Watson, Gary Monk (also NHC Patron), Peter & Michelle Wall, Joan Finlayson, Shane Cortese (Ambassador/AIMES Awards Judge), Aidan Bennett (LIFE member/AIMES Awards Judge) and Cam Calkoen (Ambassador). Absent LIFE members Bob Jago and John Bishop and Ambassadors Ian Jones and Peter Montgomery

Our members


Gary Monk ONZM

LIFE Members

Aidan Bennett QSM, Joan Finlayson, Gary Monk ONZM, Professor Ian Watson, John Bishop, Peter & Michelle Wall, Bob Jago


Mike Atkinson – President

Murray Lockwood – Vice President

Andy Ruzich, Becky West, Blake Douglas, Jeremy Parsons, Lisa Connor, Lloyd Kirby


Cam Calkoen, Ian Jones MNZM, Peter Montgomery MBE, Shane Cortese

AIMES Awards Judges

Andrew MacDonald (Chair), Aidan Bennett QSM, Dean Flyger, Shane Cortese, Sue Kohn-Taylor, Courtney Davies, Tom Ashley

North Harbour Club Members

Our Objectives

The annual AIMES Awards are the highest-profile face of the North Harbour Club, but the objectives of the club are five-fold:

1. To establish and maintain a club of non-political character for members to meet through regular lunches and social activities.

2. To establish a charitable trust, known as The North Harbour Club Charitable Trust, to promote and develop local talent in the fields covered by the AIMES Awards.

3. To support cultural, sporting and recreational activities in the North Harbour Region.

4. To foster a spirit of pride in the North Harbour Region.

5. To foster a ‘good neighbour’ and ‘good citizen’ ethos in the North Harbour Region.

Membership of the North Harbour Club returns benefits to members as well as the young people the Club chooses to reward.

Sign up &

stay connected

Subscribe to Newsletters